Cheers to the New Year!

(image: 11news.us)

“An optimist stays up until midnight to see the new year in. 

A pessimist stays up to make sure the old year leaves.”

– Bill Vaughan

As the entire world rang in 2012 at midnight last night, many made resolutions to become a better person in some way in the oncoming year. We have all made our resolutions at some point in life. We have vowed to quit smoking, lose weight, eat better, and many other things. For some of us, saying good riddance to the past and hello to the future was enough of an accomplishment.

However you see it, I hope that the coming of a new year reminds you that an entire year can pass you by before you even realize that it’s gone. Life while going day by day seems so slow, but our lives our flying by the second.

With that thought, combined with many of the recent events in my life, I have decided to set my New Years resolutions to something with a purpose to my overall well being. Many of those who know me, are very aware that I have a bucket list. I am sure that we all have one, things we would like to do and accomplish. Mine is saved onto my laptop and hanging on a piece of paper in my bedroom to remind me everyday of what I want to do in my lifetime.

I wrote my list out over a year ago and I am sad to report that not item has been crossed out since I started. I shared this list with many of my friends recently. I am going to re-share it, word for word, as it appears on my wall. (With a few things recently added.)

  • Skydiving
  • Bungee Jumping
  • Drive a NASCAR car
  • Eat a hotdog in Times Square, New York
  • Spend one New Years Eve in Times Square, New York
  • Drink wine in Italy
  • Ride in a hot air balloon
  • Learn how to ride a dirt bike
  • Build a rat rod
  • Do a pin-up girl photo shoot with it
  • Build a race car
  • Own a smoky and the bandit Trans- AM
  • Finish the Blazer and romp it
  • Build a rally car
  • Build a pre-runner
  • Drive a race car down the track (11 seconds or less)
  • Take up photography and take amazing pictures
  • Stand at the top of the Eiffel Tower
  • Learn how to make Lasagna from scratch (pasta, sauce and all)
  • Swim with sharks
  • Feed/swim with dolphins
  • Learn to ski
  • Learn to snowboard
  • Learn to surf
  • Go to a beach and build a HUGE sandcastle
  • Go kayaking
  • Try fencing (sword fighting)
  • Learn how to ballroom dance
  • Learn how to swing dance
  • Learn a new language (Spanish)
  • Learn to play the guitar
  • Maybe even the drums
  • Ride a mechanical bull
  • Fly a plane
  • Ride in a helicopter
  • Go to the Bondurant school of driving and drive a FAST car
  • Face my fear of roller coasters
  • Break a world record
  • Experience Mardi Gras
  • See the pyramids in Egypt
  • Open my own business
  • Take up some kind of fighting
  • Go to one super bowl game
  • Inspire even one person to better themselves
  • Ride an elephant
  • Go paintballing
  • Take a wine tasting class
  • Study religion
  • Experience Vegas!
  • Try to brew my own beer
  • Send a message in a bottle
  • Drink a beer in a pub in Ireland
  • Be a part of a food fight
  • Dance with a stranger in a foreign country
  • Scuba dive in Australia
  • Write a book
  • Open a bar
  • Build a tree house
  • Have someone make a wish of mine come true
  • Make someone else’s wish come true
  • Help someone cross an item off their bucket list
  • Two birds with one stone- achieve one of my things to do that I share with someone else
  • Make a difference in the world

With that shared, I have decided that while keeping the direction of my blog focused on positivity, I will also be adding the concept of fulfillment in life. I believe, that there is so much life to experience in the world, so many things to see and do, that we should take every opportunity to do so. This year, I have made my resolution to fulfill my life. I will be taking wine tasting classes, studying religion, meditating, eating foreign cuisines, traveling, and sharing my positivity with as many people as I can.

I hope that everyone continues to follow my journey in the world. As I turn 22 in two weeks, I am excited to start this year, one year older, one year wiser, and look forward to sharing my life with everyone who is willing to be a part of it. please feel free to share any experiences of these events with me as I go through them or if you feel there is something extraordinary that needs to be added.

As always, thank you all so much for believing in me and enjoying my stories. It is truly an incredible feeling.

Wishing you all the best in 2012.

-Racy

 

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment